Bauhaus furniture history - Bauhaus designers and their biography:

Charles Eames

Charles Eames

Charles Eames was born in St. Louis, Missouri, and studied at the Washington University architecture. In 1936 he received a grant from the Cranbrook Academy of Art, Michigan, where he later taught. His colleagues there included Harry Bertoia, Eero Saarinen and Ray Kaiser, whom he married in 1941.

During the 2nd World War II he manufactures and his wife for the US Navy arm and leg splints and stretchers of plywood. For this project they developed a new method to deform of laminated plywood in three dimensions. In 1940 Charles Eames and Eero Saarinen won competitions organized by the "Museum of Modern Art" competition "Organic Design in Home Furnishings".
In 1946 the "Museum of Modern Art," gave him the first solo show (New Furniture by Charles Eames).

Charles and Ray Eames worked closely with the manufacturer Herman Miller, with whom they developed a very progressive, rational furniture design. Later they turned to the film, photography and exhibition design. Her clients included the US government and the IBM Corporation.

Style Lounge ChairStyle Lounge Chair OttomanStyle Chaise LongueStyle DSW Plastic Chair 2587Style DSR Plastic Chair 2588Style RAR Plastic Rocking ChairStyle DAW Plastic Chair 2590Style DAR Plastic Chair EA 2591Style Segmented Round TableStyle Segmented TableStyle Alu Group Hocker EA 125Style Alu Group Lounge Chair EA 124Style Aluminium Group Stuhl EA 119Style Aluminium Group Stuhl EA 118Style Aluminium Group Stuhl  EA 219Style Aluminium Group Stuhl  EA 217Style Aluminium Group Stuhl EA 112Style Aluminium Group Stuhl EA 108Style Alu Group Stuhl EA 112 NetzStyle Alu Group Stuhl EA 108 NetzStyle Alu Group Stuhl EA 119 NetzStyle Alu Group Stuhl EA 118 NetzStyle Aluminium Group Stuhl  EA 212Style Aluminium Group Stuhl  EA 208Style Bürosessel Lobby Chair ES 108Style Bürosessel, Lobby Chair ES 104

• Charles Eames
• Charles R. Mackintosh
• Designer Möbel Classic
• Eileen Gray
• Gerrit Rietveld
• Harry Bertoia
• Josef Hoffmann
• Le Corbusier
• Marcel Breuer
• Mart Stam
• Mies van der Rohe
• Philippe Starck